BOEALA Proposed Rule Changes

The Board of Examiners of Assisted Living Administrators will hold a public hearing to hear written comments from 10:00 am until 11:00 am on January 15, 2015. The public hearing will be held in the conference room of the ALAA Office, 5921 Carmichael Road, Montgomery, Alabama. ALL written comments MUST be received no later than January 14, 2015.

Notice – If you require special accommodations (wheelchair access) and would like to attend our Board Meetings, you MUST notify the BOEALA Office by calling (334) 271.2418 at least 10 days in advance of any meeting.

Rule Changes Posted July 15, 2015

CLICK HERE TO DOWNLOAD

135-X-13-.01 Fees – NEW FEES EFFECTIVE FEBRUARY 24, 2015

135-X-13-.01 Fees. The fee requirements shall be set and annually adopted by the Board. The fee requirements shall be published after the last Board meeting held prior to October 1 of each year. Fees shall be charged for each of the following items:

Initial Application Cat. I $90.00  $100.00
Initial Application Cat. II $100.00  $125.00
Examination $125.00 $150.00 (Section A) $125.00  $150.00 (Section B)
License $100.00  $125.00
License Renewal $150.00
Reciprocity Questionnaire $50.00  $100.00
Late Renewal Penalty $250.00  $275.00
Inactive Reactivation Fee $250.00  $325.00
Bad Check Fee $30.00
Emergency Permit $350.00
Administrative Fee $75.00  $100.00
Administrative Fines $1,000.00
Copies (per page) $.75 (per page 1-25) $.25 (per page 26+)

C135-X-5-.07 (1) (2) – Deadline to Pay License Fee

  1. An applicant who has successfully passed the Section B exam and taken the Administrator Oath has 30 days from the date of passing the exam to pay the initial licensing fee. Failure to do so will forfeit all previously paid fees and the applicant will be required to submit a new application and will be responsible for all applicable fees.
  2. The Administrator Oath shall be administered within 14 days of passing the Section B Exam.

The Board of Examiners of Assisted Living Administrators will hold a public hearing to hear written comments from 10:00 am until 11:00 am on February 27, 2014. The public hearing will be held in the conference room of the ALAA Office, 5921 Carmichael Road, Montgomery, Alabama. Notice- If you require special accommodations (wheelchair access) and would like to attend our Board Meetings, you MUST notify the BOEALA Office by calling (334) 271.2418 at least 10 days in advance of any meeting. Written comments MUST be received by the BOEALA no later than February 26, 2014

The Board of Examiners of Assisted Living Administrators will hold a public hearing to hear written comments from 10:00 am untill1:00 am on October 10, 2013. The public hearing will be held in the conference room of the ALAA Office, 5921 Carmichael Road, Montgomery, Alabama. Notice- If you require special accommodations (wheelchair access) and would like to attend our Board Meetings, you MUST notify the BOEALA Office by calling (334) 271-2418 at least 10 days in advance of any meeting.

Written comments MUST be received by the BOEALA no later than October 9, 2013

135-X-5-.02 (I) (a) (5) (i)

Change one year experience to 2 years, the word AND will replace the word OR where it talks about working full-time in an administrative QR AND resident or patient care position

135-X-5-.02 (I) (a) (5) (ii)

Change one year experience to 2 years, the word AND will replace the word OR where it talks about working full-time in an administrative QR AND resident or patient care position

135-X-5-.02 (I) (a) (6)

The word AND will replace the word OR where it talks about working full-time in an administrative QR AND resident or patient care position

135-X-5-.02 (I) (b) (5) (i)

Change one year experience to 2 years, the word AND will replace the word OR where it talks about working full-time in an administrative QR AND resident or patient care position

135-X-5-.02 (I) (b) (5) (ii)

Change one year experience to 2 years, the word AND will replace the word OR where it talks about working full-time in an administrative QR AND resident or patient care position

135-X-5-.02 (L) (b) (6)

The word AND will replace the word OR where it talks about working full-time in an administrative QR AND resident or patient care position

135-X-7-.02 (a) – Remove the words willfully or repeatedly
135-X-7-.02 (b) –
 Remove the words willfully or repeatedly
135-X-7-.02 (i)  –
 Remove the words willfully or repeatedly
135-X-7-.02 (p) –
 Remove the words willfully.

Released on August 13, 2013

135-X-5-.06 Grading Examinations

  1. “Each applicant for a Category I or II assisted living administrator’s license shall be required to pass Sections A and B of the examination for such license with a grade as determined by the Board. The Board has determined that Section A and Section B of the Category I or Category II State examination will be used for the written or oral examination administered to all applicants, and the applicant must obtain a score of at least 80% on each section of the Category I or Category II State examination. Effective January 1, 2014, all applicants must obtain a passing score of at least 85% on each section of the Category I or Category II State Examination. Effective July 1, 2014, all applicants must obtain a passing score of at least 90% on each section of the Category I or Category II State Examination.” All applicants who apply and are approved by the Board through reciprocity shall be required to take Section A of either the Category I or Category II examination, determined by the license for which the applicant has applied. The applicant must obtain a score of at least 80% on Section A of the Category I or Category II State examination. Effective January 1, 2014, the applicant must obtain a score of at least 85% on Section A of the Category I or Category II State Examination. Effective July 1, 2014, the applicant must obtain a score of at least 90% on Section A of the Category I or Category II State Examination.”
  2. The Board shall determine a method of grading each section of the examination separately and shall apply such method uniformly to all candidates that are examined.
  3. An applicant who does not pass a section of the Category I or Category II Assisted Living Administrator Licensure examination may pay another examination fee and retake the appropriate section of the examination. After failing the same section of the examination twice, the applicant will be required to participate in a Board-approved study course before taking the section of the examination a third time.

Author: Theresa Jordan.
Statutory Authority: Code of Ala. 1975, Section 34-2A-1-16.
History: New Rule Filed September 16, 2002. Amended: November 13, 2003